Founded in 1948, the museum is situated in Trakai Castle, a unique ensemble of fortification architecture. The construction of the Castle was begun in the second half of the 14th century and completed by Grand Duke Vytautas at the beginning of the 15th century. In the 15th century the Castle was the residence of Lithuania’s sovereigns. During the 1654-1667 war with Moscow the Castle was destroyed. The exploration and restoration of the Trakai Castle ensemble have been going on since 1951.
Museum’s founder is Ministry of Culture of Republic of Lithuania.
Address: Karaimu str., Trakai