The KGB prison
The most important part of the exhibition put on by the museum is the old NKVD/MGB/KGB prison that was established in the basement of the building in the autumn of 1940 after Lithuania‘s occupation by the Soviet Union. At that time, the prison contained 50 cells. Only at the beginning of the 1960s, when the anti-Soviet resistance was broken, were most of the cells used to house the KGB archives. The remaining 23 cells (later on, 19) were still used for the imprisonment of dissidents and fighters for human rights.
The prison is now as it was when the KGB left it in August 1991. Visitors can see 19 common wards, the rooms of the duty officer and the guards, the search and fingerprinting rooms, a padded cell where prisoners were tortured, solitery confinement cells and courtyards where prisoners were taken for exercise. Small thematic exhibitions are put on in some cells (about the persecution of priests and etc).
The execution chamber
On display in glass stands is material which shows the procedures of sentencing people to death, and the inhuman treatment of dead bodies. Under a glass floor some objects discovered in the burial ground in Tuskulėnai are displayed: shoes, buttons, glasses, etc.