us NOW phone:
+37 052 625241 Emergency phone:
+37 052 625241
Museum located in 16th mentury building at the Town Hall Square in the Old Town of Kaunas, Lithuania. It moved to its current location in 1987. Collection is made up of personal items of doctors and pharmacists, Lithuanian hospital and pharmacy establishments, medical implements, documents and etc.
Pharmacy history exposition – the exhibition shows nineteenth mentury end – twentieth century Lithuanian town pharmacy. At that time there were a few pharmacy rooms: officina, coctoria, stock room of medicinal materials, a laboratory, a cellar.
Officina - has been used as sale-room and reception room for customers. The shelves of officinas are full of old drugs, medicine, nursing and hygiene measures.
Coctoria – has beenused as room, where pharmacists used to produce infusions and decoctions, to wash and dry dishes, to distil water.
Materialia – has been used as room for keeping reserves of various raw materials including poisonous and violently acting stuff.
Laboratory – has been used to produce patent medcines and other products such as aromatic waters, oils, tablets and etc.
Opening hours – II-VI 10.00am-17.00pm.
Address - Rotušės a. 28, LT-44279, Kaunas.
Adults – 3Lt
Students and pupils – 1,50Lt
Guided tour – 25Lt
Museum of the geology of Lithuania reflects the development of nature. Museum was opened for training and education. The aims of Museum are to collect, research, restore geological materials and present them to the public from Lithuania and foreign communities. There are 1136 cores in the collection, that are removed from the depth of more than 2 km. They are kept in a mechanized reservoir in Vievis. It is the main source of information. There are also kept the archives of Lithuanian geologists. There are 7 expositions in the museum: field boulder exposition, polished boulder exposition, the memorial exhibition of Juozas Dalinkevičius (1893-1980), exposition of the minerals of Lithuania, exposition about the rocks that are forming at the present, Žukelis` paleontological exposition, J. Lisauskas` collection of rare minerals
Field boulder exposition:
Among the trees, near the two water ponds there are paths for visitors. To the paths there are 552 boulders from various locations of Lithuania. These are descendants of the continental ice formation after 20-12 thousand years.The glaciers drag boulders from Scandinavian countries, the Baltic sea and other places.
Polished boulder exposition:
This exposition completes the field boulder exposition and introduces acquains visitors with minerals that are forming boulders and the conditions of the formation of the Earth‘s crust. There are also photos of the biggest Lithuanian boulders, a schematic map of ice spreading in Northern Europe.
The memorial exhibition of Juozas Dalinkevičius (1893-1980)
J. Dalinkevičius is the Lithuanian geologist school promoter, academician, professor. In exposition there is a table with small details, student‘s cap, geological hammer, photos and ther personal items of J. Dalinkevičius. There is very interesting thunderbolt and ammonites collection from the chalk and Jurrasic age rocks.
Žukelis` paleontological exposition
There are 195 fossils, that visitor can see from Žukelis collection. Exposition reflects the evolution of life on Earth from the Paleozoic to Cenezoic.
Opening hours – I – V 8.00am.-16.00pm.
Address - Taikos g. 2, LT-21371, Vievis, Elektrėnų savivaldybė.
Railway museum of Lithuania was opened in 1966. Museum introduces the visitors to the history and present of the Lithuanian railways. It‘s located on the second floor of the Vilnius railway station, which was built in 1861. Authentic exhibits and models are on display in the museum halls: signs of luggage porters, authentic shelves from diesel train D1, an old ticket safe and etc. Also, there are photos of first railway in Lithuania. There are three parts of the museum: information, cultural, educational. The exhibition is arranged according to travel, railway signaling, road construction, builder and workers, communications themes. Museum offers tour for groups and special programs for children and students: film shows, cultural evenings, book presentations, competitions.
Opening hours: II-V 9.00 am.-17.00pm.; VI 9.00 am.- 16.00pm.
Address: Geležinkelio g. 16, LT-01047, Vilnius.
Adults – 4Lt;
Students/pupils – 2Lt;
Excursion – 30Lt;
Groups ( more than 5 person) - 15Lt;
Lithuanian Sports Museum was opened in 1993, to introduce the visitors to the history of Lithuanian sport since its origins until the present time. The exposition contains more than 6000 exponents. A lot of gifts were given by famous atletes and veterans of sport. The most popular sport branch in Lithuania – basketball – occupies the most of the museum area. There are also exponents from another sport branches, such as football, handball, swimming and etc.
Opening hours: II – VI 10.00 am.- 17.00 pm.
Address: Muziejaus g. 7, 9, LT-44279, Kaunas.
Tadas Ivanauskas Zoological Museum was opened in 15 July 1919 and named after biologist and zoologist Tadas Ivanauskas (1882-1971). The exposition contains more than 250 000 exponents: stuffed animals and birds, skeletons, moist preparations, fells, skin, anatomical preparations etc.
There are 7 expositions in museum: exposition of Invertebrates, exposition of Insects, exposition of Palenthologian Collections, Exposition of Mammalia, Exposition of Hunting Trophies, Exposition of Birds, Expositions of Fishes and Reptiles. There are also some exhibits from expeditions and trips: unique sized giraffes, hippopotami, aurochses, orang-outangs, camel. Every year in the museum thematic excursions for pupils and students are being organized, also consultations to students are given.
Opening hours: II – VII 11.00 am. – 19.00 pm.
Address: Laisvės alėja 106, LT-44253 Kaunas.
The first Diamond Museum in Eastern Europe opened its doors in Vilnius, the capital of Lithuania. This is an unique world of gemstones in the heart of the city centre!
Visual aids and audio-guide in English, Russian, German, Polish or Lithuanian will lead its visitors through diamond's journey which started billions years ago and finished in a golden ring or other jewellery. The visitors will have unique possibility to look at ancient diamond manufacturing tools, some of which are used today as well.
Moreover, a huge collection of precious and semi-precious stones from all over the world is exhibited at the museum.
The museum includes a store of exclusive jewellery with diamonds where even the most selective client will find a product he/she is looking for.
It is just a brief description of the Diamond Museum so we invite you to visit it and to see its uniqueness yourselves.
For adults – 15Lt,
For students/pupils – 10Lt,
For seniors – 10Lt,
For children from 7 to 12 years old – 7Lt,
For children to 7 years old – free admission
Excursions in Lithuanian, English, German, Polissh, Russian languages
Vilnius, Vokiečių str. 11.
Opening hours: Monday - Sunday 10.00 - 19.00
Liubavas manor museum was founded in the unique stonework mill of the manor. The museum was opened under the initiative of the artist, cultural and public activist Gintaras Karosas after the restoration of a watermill of Liubavas manor not far away from Vilnius.
Until the middle of 16th century Liubavas manor belonged to the grand dukes of Lithuania. The ponds of Liubavas repaired at that time were thoroughly described in the treasury book of the Lithuanian ruler Žygimantas Augustas (Sigismund Augustus) back in 1546.Over the period of over five hundred years Liubavas has been governed by the representatives of the Lithuanian political, cultural and clergy elite, as well as grand dukes (Mikalojus Radvila Rudasis (Mikalojus Radvila the Red), the Golejevskis (Golejewski) family, Krišpinas Kiršenšteinas (Kryszpin Kierszeynsteyn), Teresė Tyzenhauzaitė, Tiškevičius (Tyszkiewicz) and Slizienis (Slizien) families).
A visitor centre has been installed in Liubavas manor-watermill, former residential place of the miller; whereas grinders, sifters and devices for making grits are displayed in the production premises. The parts that had not been preserved have been recreated according to their analogues. Among more important installation works mention should be made of the restored original water turbine, transmission, a sack lifting mechanism, etc. We invite to visit the new museum and to get to know this romantic manor which name may be translated as “Love”. The museum is open during the warm season – from April up to the middle of October.
Lithuanian Exhibition and Congress Centre LITEXPO,
Laisves pr. 5,
Stasys Brundza Car and Transport Museum in Litexpo presents the greatest American car "Cadillac "collection in Europe.
"Cadillac" has always been considered one of the most prestigious not only in America but all over the world. The show presents from the oldest model produced in 1904 to the youngest - rolled off the assembly line in 1987.
II-V 11.00 - 18.00, VI-VII 11.00 - 16.00
Arsenalo st. 1
The National Museum of Lithuania (Lithuanian: Lietuvos nacionalinis muziejus), established in 1952, is a state-sponsored historical museum that encompasses several significant structures and a wide collection of written materials and artifacts. It also organizes archeological digs in Lithuania.
The Museum of Antiquities in Vilnius (Polish: Muzeum Starożytności w Wilnie), founded by Eustachy Tyszkiewicz in 1855, was the forerunner of today's museum. At its inception, the museum focused on the culture and history of the Lithuanian Grand Duchy. Made up mostly of Polish private collections, it was quite popular and received many visitors. After theJanuary Uprising of 1863, the Russian Empire moved much of the collection to Moscow; the remaining collections were re-organized and were incorporated into the Vilnius Public Libray. From 1866 to 1914, the museum and the library operated together. In 1915, when the Eastern Front of World War I approached Vilnius, more of the exhibits was taken to Russia.
After Lithuanian independence was established in 1918, the Museum of History and Ethnography was founded, based on the collections in the Museum of Antiquities and the Lithuanian Scientific Society. Its director was Jonas Basanavičius, one of the signatories to the Act of Independence of Lithuania. After 1919, Vilnius became a part of Poland, and the organization was incorporated into Vilnius University.
In 1941, the Academy of Sciences acquired the collections of all the museums in Vilnius. The museum again became a separate entity in 1952 under the direction of the historian Vincas Žilėnas. In 1967, the museum established itself at the Vilnius Castle Complex's New Arsenal.
The museum hosted a major exposition in 1968. During the 1970s and 1980s historic materials from across the country were gathered. In 1992, after Lithuania re-established its independence, it was renamed the National Museum of Lithuania. It is now part of the Ministry of Culture.
Rokiškis Manor House has preserved the environment of the Counts Tyzenhauz. Just like in their times, concerts of chamber music, meetings and other events are held in the house. The manor house even displays authentic clothes of the Counts, including dresses by the famous Coco Chanel. The palace was built at the beginning of the 19th century at the request of Count Ignacy Tyzenhauz (Lith. Ignotas Tyzenhauzas). In addition to the manor house, a majestic park with huge ponds was also established. The world famous ornithologist Konstantinas Tyzanhauzas, who inherited the manor house, established a laboratory of natural sciences in the park.
Now the complex houses The Rokiškis Regional Museum. Its collection consists of more than 77 thousand exhibits. Among them are archaeological findings, ancient books, documents and printings, collections of coins, pieces of both fine and applied arts, and the archival data of the manor house. It is worth paying a visit to the manor house if only because of the unprecedented Museum of Christmas Cribs and the unique carvings by Lionginas Šepka. He is the most prominent woodcarving master in Lithuania in his works mainly feature a religious theme.
You can learn practically everything about horses here, from the roots of their existence to the structure of their bodies. Do you know how to determine the age of a horse? By looking at its teeth! The guide at the museum will kindly tell you this and other interesting facts.
The unique Museum of the Horse in Lithuania was established by the agriculture professor Petras Vasinauskas (1906–1995). The importance of the horse to economy and culture of Lithuania is the main topic of the exhibits. Here visitors can see agricultural horse-drawn equipment, transport collections from all over Lithuania, cavalry exhibitions, and a collection of wood-carvings.
Visitors are allowed to try horseback riding within the area of the museum. If you don’t feel like riding a horse yourself, check out the numerous souvenirs for sale, or get into a cart (local dialect bričkelė or lineika) and take a 12-kilometre ride in the picturesque surroundings along the River Šventoji. Children can enjoy themselves in the playground with the merry-go-round.
A traditional festival and horse riding competition, “Run, Stallion, Run” (“Bėk bėk, žirgeli!”) is held annually by the museum in June. Aside from this event, there are plenty of other activities to engage in: learn to bake bread in an authentic house typical of the Aukštaitija region, try making dipped candles, or decorating eggs. Additionally, the owners of the house always treat visitors to rural delicacies, including bread, honey, cheese, and lašiniai (slabs of smoked pork).
Mikalojus Konstantinas Ciurlionis (1875–1911) was the first composer and artist who combined music with painting, a symbolist who pioneered in revealing the charm of abstract art.
The Museum was established in 1963 in his parents’ house, where the artist lived from 1896–1910. Authentic interior and domestic items have been restored in these two houses. A permanent exhibition on M.K. Ciurlionis' creative output, biography, and family history is displayed in two other houses. Surroundings of the homestead have been restored according to the recollections of M.K. Ciurlionis sisters Valerija Karužiene and Jadvyga Ciurlionyte.
When visiting the site in summer season don’t miss the opportunity to attend one of the concerts of “Druskininku vasara su M. K. Ciurlioniu” (Druskininkai Summer with M.K. Ciurlionis). In June the place is full of young people taking part in the study week organised by “Baltos lankos” publishing house. Finally, in August the city holds the festival “Muzika be sienu” (Music without Borders).
Stocks of the museum contain 18 000 displays of different fields of technology (2007). The major part of them are monuments of the history of aviation of Lithuania. 40 flying machines are among them.
After signing an agreement on co-operation with the militarized fire-prevention unit of Kaunas on March 4, 1997, displays representing the history of fire fighting in Lithuania started being collected as well.
18 000 publications are stored in the library of the museum (2007).
“Lithuanian Aviation from birth to nowadays”
The visitors are shown 220 photographs reflecting development of the Lithuanian aviation from its birth to nowadays. In the center of hall the collection displays propellers of first airplanes of the air club and of the Lithuanian military aviation including ANBO designed by gen. A. Gustaitis.
You may see 4 flying apparatus in the exposition. Beside them are lined aviation engines used in various periods. In the halls are demonstrated models of airplanes, flyers, gliders and helicopters of various times.
Birthplace of Steponas Darius
Address: Dariaus kaimas, Judrėnų seniūnija, LT-96292 Klaipėdos rajonas.
Tel. (+370 ~ 46) 31 97 67.
Opening hours: Monday to Saturday 9–17.
A memorial exhibition in the Rubiskes farmstead (now the Darius village) where Steponas Darius (Steponas Jucevicius) was born 1896 and spent his childhood. He graduated from the Kaunas military school and served in Lithuanian war aviation.
In 1927 he left for the USA where he came to an agreement with Stasys Girenas to fly to Lithuania across the Atlantic. With donations from American Lithuanians they bought an aeroplane which they named the “Lituanica”, reconstructed it and in 1933 left New York for Lithuania. After crossing the Atlantic, “Lithuania” crashed in a forest near Soldin (now Mysliborz, Poland) and they perished. According to the precision of their flight they were first in the world, the second according to the long distance flying record of that time and the forth according to the time spent in the area.
Stasys Girėnas Birthplace
Address: Vytogala, Upynos seniūnija, LT-75241 Šilalės rajonas.
Tel.: (+370 ~ 449) 46 626, (+370 ~ 449) 46 798.
Opening hours: Monday to Saturday 9–17.
A memorial exposition in the Vytogala village, the birthplace of Stasys Girėnas (Stanislovas Girskis, 1893–1933). He served in the US airborne squadron, attended a flying school and became an experienced pilot.
In 1927 he met Steponas Darius, they together prepared to fly the “Lituanica”, crossed the Atlantic in 1933 and perished near Soldin.
The aviators are buried in Kaunas.
The Lithuanian Aviation Museum formerly known as the Lithuanian Technical Museum was founded on February 19, 1990, on the base of the Vytautas the Great Military Museum section of Technical History. It acquired its present name on February 1, 1995.
Its director is Algis Lapinskas. The museum is within the jurisdiction of the Lithuanian Ministry of Culture and its located in Kaunas, Lithuania at the Darius and Girenas airfield, which has been in operation since 1915.
The museum was started establishing in 1982 when a senior research worker was employed by Kaunas State Museum of History. He was charged to collect articles of the history of technology.
In 1983 a sector of the history of technology was established in the museum, in 1985 it was reorganized into a division.
In 1985-1987 the division of the history of technology organized 3 conferences on the history of technology in Lithuania, printed theses of reports.
In 1989-1990 the division took over a part of displays of the Museum of Sport Aviation which had functioned in Kaunas in 1983-1989.
On March 21, 1990 buildings owned by the United Aviation Crew of Kaunas in 132 Veiverių St. were transmitted to the division of the history of technology.
On February 19, 1990 on the basis of the division of the history of technology of Vytautas Magnus Military Museum Lithuanian Museum of Technology was established by order of the Minister of Culture.
On March 6, 1991 a publishing house “Plieno sparnai” (Steel wings) was registered.
In summer 1991 the museum took over transatlantic pilots’ S. Darius and S. Girenas homesteads in Klaipeda and Silale regions restored by Lithuanian Cultural Foundation and veterans of aviation.
On February 2, 1995 the museum was named Lithuanian Aviation Museum.
Founder of the museum – Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Lithuania.
Vytogala is the native village of Stasys Girėnas (1893–1933), an aviator and transatlantic flight pioneer.
Stasys Girėnas and Steponas Darius, both born in Žemaitija, met in the USA, where they had the idea of flying non-stop from new York to Kaunas, then the capital of Lithuania.
On 15 July 1933 they left new York, but were killed in a crash in strange circumstances only 650 kilometers short of Kaunas, on the territory of nazi Germany (now Soldin, Poland).
The distance (6411-km) they flew was the world’s second longest distance non-stop. They crossed the Atlantic under adverse conditions. With only primitive navigation equipment, they flew very precisely. In the history of aviation their flight ranks among the most precise by navigation standards.
Girenas was the 16th child in a poor farmer’s family. Orphaned in their childhood, he and his brother immigrated to the USA where he became a qualified pilot.
His parents’ house has been restored and is now a museum. One-end houses an exhibition devoted to the pilot and his village; in the other is a rich ethnographic exhibition.
'Nothing comes out of nothing. And nothing happens by chance. This becomes very clear when I look twenty years back, to the very beginning, when I worked in Juodkrantė (Lithuania) as a photographer and came across amber deposits while wandering in the neighbourhood. It was hiking along the shores of the Courland Lagoon that I found the first fossil insects: a flea, an ant as inclusions in pieces of amber. Then I understood WHAT amber is and WHERE it could be found - here, in the ground and sand underneath, in this depth. God sent it upon us and settled not some other nation but us on this piece of land not without reason…' - Kazimieras Mizgiris,who jointed his life with amber, is talking about.
With the beginning of perestroika many foreign tourists started to come to Nida. Most of them had emigrated from this country long time ago and their goal was to visit the land of their childhood and of their parents and grandparents. They would tell us how they gathered amber pieces 50 years ago and what kind of amber brooches or beads their mothers wore. They would also ask us many questions about amber and to some of them we did not know the answers. Therefore very soon books on amber with descriptions of colour and photographs as well as new objects started to appear. We started promoting professional jewwlllwrs, working in amber. Having some hesitancy at the very beginning, professional artists started joining us consequently. They were Birutė Stulgaitė and Vytautas Matulionis from Vilnius, Danguolė Baravykienė from Klaipėda, designers Algis Mikutis, Žilvinas Bautrėnas, Ažuolas Vaitukaitis, Vitalijus Mikintas and others. They took pieces of amber in their hands. Some of them added a very personal touch, some - left it almost unchanged.
This collection of unique objects was being built piece by piece in Juodkrantė and Nida over 20 years time. The biggest piece of amber weighs more than 3 kg, there are also other valuable pieces weighing 1,5 and 1kg. The collection of inclusions is in no way inferior to those of the best European museums.We have an unique inclusions with a shell, a lizard and a spider 'sosibijus mizgiris' in our collection. There are also rich collections of ancient artefacts made of amber, as well as natural amber drops. Restored archaeological amber jewellery and amulets from Juodkrantė treasure have been returned to the place they were moved from many years ago. We have gathered amber pieces of different colours - blue, white, green, transparent yellow and apart from Baltic amber we are showing a collection of amber from many different countries which was given to us by Wolfgang Weitschat, a professor of Hamburg Institute of Geology and Paleontology. The amber gallery of Nida and an out-door exhibition in this recreational town is part of the international project European Amber Road.
Our collection consist of artworks by the many artists, such as Feliksas Daukantas, Birutė Stulgaitė, Vytautas Matulionis, Žilvinas Bautrėnas, Sigitas Virpilaitis, Jonas Balčiūnas and Vaidilutė Vidugirytė, Ąžuolas Vaitukaitis, Algirdas Mikutis, Saulius Grinius, Adolfas Šaulys, Mari Relo - Šaulys and other.
Now that the galleries in Nida and in Vilnius and the Baltic Amber Art Centre in Vilnius have been opened, the jewellers can come and find a place for work in the house of artists in Nida, which has been established due to revival of Herman's Blode's idea about "Mecca of Artists", and our objects number in thousands, we may say that we have accomplished something in these last years. And if we have managed to inspire love to amber in someone - our efforts were not vain.
Virginija and Kazimieras Mizgiris
AMBER GALLERY - MUSEUM IN NIDA
AMBER MUSEUM - GALLERY IN VILNIUS
If you are on holidays in Nida do not miss a chance to visit Amber Museum-Gallery. There you will here a story about Baltic amber-Lithuanian "gold". You will be acquainted with Baltic amber morphology, colours, and our incredible collection of inclusions. You will see the reconstruction of famous Juodkrante treasure. Helpful staff will answer your questions and show you the trimming of amber.
You can purchase ornaments of jewelry of modern design, unique amber pieces, and inclusions. All goods are delivered with a certificate that guarantees the high quality of real Baltic amber.
You are welcome every day from 10a.m. till 7p.m. on Pamario str. 20 (next to the church).
Address: Amber gallery-museum, Pamario 20, Nida, LT-5872, Lithuania.
Tel./Fax: (+370-469) 52712; 52573
Established in 1995
Designer Romas Martinkus
While in Vilnius, visit Amber Museum-Gallery.
Our staff will acquaint you with Baltic amber history and its usage through ages. You will see amber morphology in the exhibits of various forms, size and colour. You' will see the collection of unique inclusions: together with centipedes, spiders and other uniques you'll be able to observe real rarity - a shell of a snail in amber.
You will learn about secrets of "Juodkrante treasure", visit ceramics workshop with authentic works of the end of fifteenth century, which was discovered by unearthing museum cellars five years ago.
You will visit exhibitions held by artists, amber masters in this Gallery. Also, you can purchase ornaments of jewelry of modern and classical design. All goods are delivered with a certificate that guarantees the high quality of real amber.
You are welcome every day from 10a.m. till 7p.m.; St. Mykolo str. 8 (near St. Anne`s church).
Address: Amber museum-gallery, St. Mykolo str. 8, Vilnius, LT-2001, Lithuania.
Tel./Fax: (+370-5) 2623092
Established in 1998
Virginija Mizgiriene and Kazimieras Mizgiris founded Amber Museum-Gallery
An important role in the fields of economic education and historical and cultural heritage is played by the Money Museum, which is based in the heart of Vilnius in the Bank of Lithuania buildings complex.
The Museum started operating 16 years ago and at the end of 2010, after reconstruction, opened its doors in the new premises at the intersection of Gediminas Avenue and Totorių Street. Here, in the five halls on two storeys visitors can be introduced to the history of world money and banking, Lithuanian money, development of banking in our country since the emergence of the first credit institutions to the present day.
The modern Money Museum not only provides visitors with a possibility to view the valuable exhibits and get acquainted with the information provided on the stands, but to actively participate in the cognitive process as well. By virtue of the interactive training means observer becomes participant who can strike a souvenir plate on his own, use a special scale to weigh himself, and find out his price if he were of gold, platinum or silver. And this is far from all the Museum offers. Virtual expositions, thematic films, games, specialised internet access – all this is available on computer terminals with touch screens. The Museum’s multilayer exposition, which combines the rich history of money and the topical issues of today’s economic life, offers interesting information for everyone.
THE HISTORY OF MONEY HALL
In this hall visitors are introduced to the development of world money from its primitive forms like grain, cowrie shells, furs, amber to electronic money. The exposition is grouped by easily understandable and memorable themes, and presents the key stages in the history of money. In the centre of the exposition, ancient coin hoards and jewellery articles with coins are exhibited. The improvised mint is like a journey in time, introducing to different coinage technologies. The primitive coinage tools come to life in the hands of the reproduced 15th century coiner; modern coin production processes are demonstrated on the screens installed right there. In this hall there is also installed an interactive scale which translates human body weight into gold or other metal weight, and calculates the person’s value in the currency of his choice.
THE HISTORY OF BANKING HALL
The hall presents the development of banking in Lithuania since the emergence of the first credit institutions to the present day. The exhibits, information stands and documentary materials displayed on the showcases reveal the role of the Bank of Lithuania in different historical periods and moments significant for the national economy – while pushing through the 1922 money reform, stabilising the country’s financial and credit market during the years of global economic crisis. The collapse of national banking after Lithuania’s occupation by the Soviets in 1940 is also covered. Virtual exposition ”Money in Lithuania 1914–1945” reveals the political, economic and financial situation in the country during this period. Tired visitor can take a seat at the cashier’s table standing right here, used in the Bank during the interwar period.
THE CONTEMPORARY MONEY HALL
In this hall visitors are presented the banknotes and coins used today in different countries. While viewing the circulations banknotes of different countries exhibited in the special drawers, on the videowall one can see different information about a selected country. A lot of attention is also devoted to the Bank of Lithuania among the major functions of which is currency issue. The exhibits displayed on the showcases tell about the production of modern Lithuanian currency, the information posters cover the history of the Bank of Lithuania since its establishment to the present day. The security features of litas banknotes are presented as well. Using the installed UV detector visitors are able to verify the authenticity of the banknote in hand.
THE LITHUANIAN MONEY HALL
In the Lithuanian Money Hall one can have a view of the coins of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, Republic of Lithuania and other territories that have been in circulation on our territory. Here, the commemorative coins of the Republic of Lithuania are also exhibited, and on the pull-out stands the banknotes used on our territory from the late18th century to the present are displayed. The information posters highlight two stages in the issue of Lithuanian money – the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and the Republic of Lithuania, and on a TV screen, documentaries about the creation of Lithuanian coins and banknotes are non-stop demonstrated. On the computer terminals one can find all virtual products of the Money Museum, use specialised internet access and check one’s knowledge acquired at the Museum. Having coped with all knowledge test questions the visitor wins a prize – souvenir banknote with an image of his/her own.
THE EXHIBITION AND EDUCATION HALL
This hall is for educational events and specialised thematic expositions. Currently it houses an exhibition „The Return of Lost Valuables”. It presents the silver jewellery articles that the Bank of Lithuania acquired from precious metals buying centres at the time of the restoration of Lithuania’s independence with the aim of using the depreciating rubles and protecting valuables from being taken away to Moscow.
Totoriu str. 2/8, Vilnius, Lithuania
Tuesday to Thursday: 9.00 - 16.00
Friday: 9.00 - 15.00
The first and the only museum of wax figures in the Baltic States was opened in 2009 in the very heart of the Vilnius Old Town, near the Gate of Dawn Chapel. The exposition contains more than 100 original size wax figures of various themes and representatives of different professions: from Leonardo da Vinci, Adolf Hitler, the pop-star Madonna or characters loved by children: Shrek and Fiona. Highly qualified specialists from various fields participate in the creation of wax figures: art critics, historians, sculptors, make-up specialists, decorators and others. The creation of a figure of a historical character starts from serious scientific research works. Material from the archives is being researched, as well as the descriptions of the contemporaries, domestic portraits, engravings, photographs, and post-mortem facial masks from wax. Thus, the ultimate portrait resemblance of a real person is achieved. Every figure has its typical gesture, mimics, bend of the head and so on. The figure acquires the features of a real portrait. A person visiting the museum travels in space and time, and the excursion is joyful, educational and widens one’s horizon.
The following educational programs take place in the museum:
Aušros Vartų str. 19
The Mansion of Ch. Frenkelis (1857–1920), the owner of a tannery in Šiauliai, was built in 1908. Ch. Frenkelis Villa is the only architectural monument in Šiauliai and one of only a few in Lithuania built in the Art Noveau (Modern, Secession, Jugend) style. The brick building has a symmetrical plan with a tower at one end. Interiors of the building distinguish themselves with ornate wooden decorations, stucco works, and imposing fragments of frescos. In 1993 the Villa was given over to the Aušros Museum, restoration work started, and expositions have been made.
One part of the exposition “A Provincial Manor and a Town” creates the stylized environment of the estate. There are 4 galleries (Eastern Art Gallery, the Kings Gallery, the Landowners' Gallery and The Gallery) and 4 halls, devoted to interiors (The Library, The Yellow and The Green Salons, and The Dining Room). The other part – “The Provincial Town” – introduces the retro cinema hall “Kapitol”, a reconstructed fragment of the street and a shop. The exposition “Jewish Heritage in Šiauliai: the Merchants Frenkelis” is devoted to the owner of the Villa, prominent manufacturer Ch. Frenkelis.
The Ch. Frenkelis Villa is functioning as a historical cultural centre, welcoming visitors to the multilayer cultural heritage of Lithuania and all of Europe, inviting a museum exposition, and offering the town community a wide choice of cultural activities, exhibitions and concerts.
Vilniaus str. 74
+370 41 43 36 80
V. Žilinskienė’s "Sea Museum" is a unique museum that is a long distance from the ocean, as the "Sea Museum" is located more than 300 km from the sea – in the Visitor Center of the Gražutė Regional Park. Vida Žilinskienė collected the impressive maritime exhibits for more than 30 years. There are more than 3,000 spectacular exhibits in the unique collection. When visiting the museum you will hear breathtaking stories about the dangerous sea voyages, learn the secrets of depths, and probably hear the real sea.
Feb-Jun 10:00 – 18.00
Jul 10:00 -16.00
The Palanga Amber Museum - Branch of the Lithuanian Art Museum - was established on August 3, 1963. It is housed on the estate of Count Feliksas Tiskevicius (1865-1932). The estate, designed by German architect Franc Schwechten (1841-1924), was built in 1897. The Palanga Botanical Gardens, designed by the landscape architect Eduard Francois Andre (1840-1911), surround the Estate.
The Palanga Amber Museum’s exposition takes up 15 rooms. About 4,500 exhibit pieces are found here. Visitors are acquainted with the formation, processing, practical application, and morphological variations of amber. The museum has a wealth of amber pieces with trapped insects or plants, a collection of unique pieces of amber, and examples of fossilized tree resin brought from all over the world.
The Palanga Amber Museum is a branch of the Lithuanian Art Museum. About 8 million people have come to visit the Palanga Amber Museum.
The Museum is becoming famous for its traditional cultural events. For 30 summers now the terrace has been home to the night serenade concerts. Interesting cultural events and meetings with artists take place in the Fireplace Hall of the Estate.
Sepetember to May:
Tuesday to Saturday 11.00–17.00.
Sunday and National Holiday Eve 11.00–16.00.June to August:
Tuesday to Saturday 10.00–20.00.
Sunday and National Holiday Eve 10.00–19.00.
Admission charge - Lt 8, pupil/student/OAP - Lt 4
Guided tours by arrangement. Tel. (+370 36) 51319. Educational services, by prior arrangement. Tel. (+370 36) 53501.
PALANGA BOTANICAL PARK
This landscape park is one of the prettiest, best preserved, and best maintained parks in coastal region of Lithuania. In 1897 Count Felix Tiškevičius founded this park around the palace built in the same year. The park was designed by the famous French landscape architect and botanist Eduard Fransua Andre, (1840 -1911), who spent three summers in Palanga with his son Rene Eduard Andre (1867 - 1942) supervising the construction of the park. The Belgian gardener Buyssen de Coulon assisted them.
The contrast of scenery is emphasized by the palace's regular shape: the northern side of which opens onto a magnificent terrace with the steps leading into the park. Flowers and a fountain add more to the effect.
The southern side of the palace is surrounded by an oval rose garden that is connected to the palace's terraces by stairs. Experts guess that the park's founders planted about 500 different kinds of trees and bushes. The trees were brought to Palanga from Berlin, Königsberg and other European botanical gardens.
Today the park covers an area of approximately 100 ha. Trees cover 60 ha, fields 24,5 ha, flowers 0,5 ha, flowing water 1,16 ha. There are 7 sculptures and a number of other architectural structures there. The park has watering and decorative lighting systems.
The park is financed by the town of Palanga.
Fly & Lease of campers in the Baltic.Take a tour and discover Baltics by yourself!
You will be able to travel comfortably throughout Baltic Sates in our campers, as passengers really may feel themselves like home and take any necessary stuff with them, even their most loved cup for coffee.
A virtue of motor homes is the possibility to be in the cabin in all companionship while going from place to place.
Moreover, you will be free as you will be independent from hotels and every evening you will be able to spend in any place you wish!
Prepaid individual transfer :