The church of Trakai parish was funded by the Grand Duke Vytautas right after the construction of Trakai Island Castle was completed. Vytautas also funded the congregational school – first known congregational school in Lithuania. The inside of the church was painted in frescos of Byzantine style, the fragments of which were found while repairing in 2007. The records testify that portray of the church funder Grand Duke Vytautas was also painted among other frescos. The church has many values of ecclesiastical art: 500 objects of fine art are registered as well as the unique part of a cross of 15-16th centuries.
The picture of the Trakai Mother of God, which according to the legend was donated by Vytautas, is revered from old times. It was the most revered picture in the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and it became the first picture of Mary crowned by the Pope. The prominent ecclesiastic man who descended from Trakai was Mr. Motiejus Trakiškis, the first bishop of Samogitia (1417-1422) and the 5th bishop of Vilnius (1422-1453).